And I Cry

by Rick Pidcock your tears.jpg

Last night I was playing with my cat when, for some odd reason, a song idea came to mind.  It has absolutely nothing to do with my cat.  But I thought I would share it with you. 

The stanzas set up a series of hardships.  And they point out that we should cry out to God to be our guidance, comfort, rest, and safety.   

Then the chorus points out that God is the One who orchestrates our trials.  All to often, we view our trials as something that just happens to us.  And God is just there to jump off His couch and try to give us emotional comfort when bad things happen to us.  But in reality, God chose to speak those dark times into existence to give us an opportunity to cry out to Him in worship. 

This is a dark song.  And it is a song of broken weeping.  Yet, it is a song that so often depicts what I feel in my heart but struggle to express in my words.  So I pray that it will be an encouragement to you in whatever trial you are facing.  Do not be overcome with fear.  And refuse to look to your own resources as the answer.  View your trial in light of God’s sovereign nature and work.  And cry to Him.

And I Cry

When I’m walking through the valley,
And I’m falling down on my knees,
And I cry out, “Lord, will You please carry me tonight?”
When the darkness all enfolds me,
And I need someone to hold me,
And I cry out, “Lord, will You please hold me close tonight?”
Oh, I need You here tonight. 

Cause You’re the One Who spoke the darkness,
You’re the One Who formed the night,
And You’re the One Who understands
When I am aching for a light,
And I cry. 

So I lay down in the shadows,
So weary from the battles,
And I cry out, “Lord, will You please let me sleep tonight?”
There’s a world that wants to harm me,
And an evil that alarms me,
So I cry out, “Lord, will you please keep me safe tonight?”
Oh, I need You here tonight. 

Cause You’re the One Who spoke the darkness,
You’re the One Who formed the night,
And You’re the One Who understands
When I am aching for a light,
And I cry. 

Words and Music by Rick Pidcock
© 2006 by Rick Pidcock

Leave a Reply

