John Piper Is Bad

by Rick Pidcock

Edit: The video in this article has been deleted.  For a detailed explanation, please read my article, “Living Worship On My Blog.” 

Edit: I just found John Piper’s personal reaction to the video in question.  For those of you who were offended by it, I have been told that part of your reasoning was that it disrespected a godly man and did nothing to point us to the gospel.  Because most of you still have not contacted me personally, I cannot interact with you personally about it.  However, I would like to post John Piper’s personal reaction from his own website to the video here.  Just so you know, they do play an audio clip of the video in this mp3 file.

——
Since we have had a few recent articles on sin, I thought you would all enjoy this video called, “John Piper Is Bad.”

Even though this video is humorous, it is a healthy reminder that none of us are righteous in and of ourselves.  We are all basically bad.  But God chooses to declare us righteous by the merits of Christ.  During this week of thanksgiving, let’s remember what we should ultimately be thankful for–the gospel of Christ that declares sinners righteous.

11 thoughts on “John Piper Is Bad

  1. For those of you who didn’t get to see this video, it was great! It’s been gaining quite a popularity in the world of reformed blogging. Who said those Reformed types were all too serious and had no humor? Loved it….

  2. Rick,

    How can you delete this video when the “offended” people will not even talk to you personally about it, and when John Piper himself said that he thought it was funny and a good reminder of the gospel?

  3. Jon,
    I understand what you are saying. And I sympathize with your frustrations. But a friend of mine e-mailed me some thoughts on this that I think are helpful.

    He said, “Though I may expect for others to treat me biblically, and though I have the right to be angry when they don’t, I must respond righteously nonetheless – with a forgiveness, forbearance, gentleness, humility, and meekness adorning the gospel.”

    That’s what I’m trying to do in this situation. And even though I can’t always base my ministry decisions on not upsetting anybody, I am willing to refrain from posting a Piper video that can be found all over the internet for the purpose of edifying some of my weaker friends.

  4. My wife and I saw the video and laughed so hard. I don’t know why anyone would be offended by it. I would like to hear what is so offensive about it. Some people just have no sense of humor.

  5. Josh,

    Well, I’ve heard from one person now directly about it as well as a few people indirectly. And since none of them want to make this into bigger deal than it is, they are not likely to post their concerns on here live. So I thought I would post the concerns that I have heard from them regarding the Piper video so we can hear their side as well.

    1. It is disrespectful to a godly man.
    2. It makes fun of a godly man.
    3. It is not a healthy reminder of the gospel.
    4. Other more conservative people might have a problem with it.
    5. We do not like rock music or anything like it.
    6. It is objectionable content.
    7. It reflects badly on you and your church.
    8. It is inconsistent with the gospel-centered purpose of your blog.
    9. Posting it was a real “foot in mouth” moment.
    10. Posting it means that your church supports listening to rock music.

    So anyway, those are the objections that I have been told about.

  6. Rick,

    It’s truly sad to see a Godly man such as yourself bowing his knee to political correctness.

    Many people today cry “I’m offended”. The “correct” response is to backpedal, seeking not to offend anyone.

    There was nothing offensive about that audio clip at all, in fact it was actually a compliment to John Piper.

    1st of all, Michel Jackson used the word “Bad” in the context for “Good”. The author of this piece may have meant it in that way. Pastor John is certainly the “baddest” pastor my family and I have ever had. (for 8 years now)

    2nd, If the author did do this in a disrespectful way, I would also be glad. Didn’t Jesus teach us:
    Mat 5:11″Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. 12Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

    Isn’t the cross offensive to some? I hope you don’t bend for even a moment with the gospel – It’s very politically incorrect.

    I like to ask, “Why be politically correct, When you can be right?”

  7. Paul,

    Thanks for the comment. I agree with you about the video. In fact, the only reason that I had to delete it at the time was that an authority figure at that time basically told me that I had to due to all of the other people getting “offended.” Thankfully, the situation has changed since then. But the post is so old that I haven’t re-edited it to put the video back in. Thanks for the encouragement not to be politically correct.

    Rick

  8. I didn’t have the fortune to watch the video but I listened to the mp3 where the audio was played and John Piper replies. It’s really funny and I have no qualms with it. It states something that is true. I don’t get it how people could have been offended by this. Wish I could have seen the video.

  9. What do you think of John Piper’s comments on the earth is billions of years…”Whatever science says it is, it is…”?

    “In verse 1, “In the beginning he made the heavens and the earth,” he makes everything. And then you go day by day and he’s preparing the land. He’s not bringing new things into existence; he’s preparing the land and causing things to grow and separating out water and earth. And then, when it’s all set and prepared, he creates and puts man there.

    So that has the advantage of saying that the earth is billions of years old if it wants to be—whatever science says it is, it is—but man is young, and he was good and he sinned. He was a real historical person, because Romans 5 says so, and so does the rest of the Bible.”

    http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/what-should-we-teach-about-creation

    This is were you get into the problem that you would have to believe that death and dying occurred before original sin of man and that suffering, and dying in the world wasn’t caused by man. If you try to mix evolution with the Bible, it will blow your theology apart.

    Exo 20:9 Six days you shall labor, and do all your work,
    Exo 20:10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the LORD your God.
    Exo 20:11 For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day.

    Jesus Christ said in Mark 10:6…”But from the beginning of the creation God made them male and female.” Here, Christ is saying that they were created at the beginning.

Leave a Reply

