Living Worship On My Blog

by Rick Pidcock

It is hard to believe that this blog is now reaching its nine-month mark.  When I first began this blog, I said, “It is my prayer that God will use Living Worship to be an encouragement to you to point your hearts to hope in Christ, and to help you think through on a practical daily level how we can live our whole lives as worship to God in every area of life.” 

With that in mind, my desire is to serve each reader, rather than to instruct you to be like me.  The distinguishing factor in our lives is the gospel, and the humility that it brings in serving others.  And for that reason, I have decided to review my own blog and make a few changes to some of my previous posts.  

1 Corinthians 10:31-33 say, “So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. Give no offense to Jews or to Greeks or to the church of God, just as I try to please everyone in everything I do, not seeking my own advantage, but that of many, that they may be saved.” 

Paul begins this passage by reaffirming the very heart of this blog, that worship is magnifying the supremacy of God in all of life.  And then, the first application he makes to this truth is that we should “give no offense…to the church of God, not seeking my own advantage, but that of many, that they may be saved.”  In other words, as we worship God with living worship, we should do it in a way that enhances the gospel’s work in the lives of others, as opposed to merely serving ourselves. 

It has been brought to my attention lately that a few of my articles have brought offense to some of my readers by not enhancing the gospel’s work in their lives.  Specifically, my posts entitled “Blogdom Of Fundamentalism Explodes,” and “John Piper Is Bad” have caused some questions on the part of some of my readers concerning the way I present gospel-centered living worship. 

Some have thought the “Blogdom of Fundamentalism Explodes” article to be exactly what I was trying to speak against—causing division in the body with what they believe to be divisive and arrogant language.  Also, some have thought my posting of the “John Piper Is Bad” video to be disrespectful, making fun of a godly man.   

Whether or not I agree with these concerns is irrelevant.  The fact remains that there is a segment of my readership that is not encouraged to hope in Christ in these articles.  And as a result, it is causing them to call into question whether or not my blog and my church are truly gospel-centered.  And thus, these articles are not serving them by enhancing the gospel’s work in their lives. 

Therefore, I have decided to make some changes to these articles.  I am going to delete the text of each article so that they do not continue to hinder the gospel’s work in some of my readers.  However, due to the fact that many people find my blog through links to these articles, I am not going to delete them all together.  Instead, I will simply say in each article that I have deleted the content of each article.  And then I will put a link to the explanation for it to this article.  That way, I am not merely sweeping this situation under the rug, pretending that it never happened, and hoping that nobody notices.  But it will encourage everyone who goes to those links to hope in Christ. 

Another article that I have edited is my “God-centered Worship Part Two” article.  The article itself is a good explanation of how God-centered worship begins with a God-centered view of the gospel.  But in it, I draw some illustrations of man-centered worship in the lives of certain men in evangelicalism.  I have edited this article so that the names of those men do not appear. 

As I make an effort to serve my readers, I would also ask that you in turn try to serve me in two simple areas.  First, please understand my heart and ongoing spiritual growth.  My heart in these articles was in no way meant to divide the body of Christ and disrespect godly men.  My heart was to point my readers to the gospel.  And as a young blogger, as well as a young man, I understand that in these cases I have failed to do so.  Thus, I am growing in my understanding of how magnifying the supremacy of God in response to the gospel applies even to this blog.  I am sure that I will make more mistakes down the road.  This article is not some magical turning point where I will never fail again.  So please understand my heart and my growth. 

Second, please approach me first if you have a problem with something that I have written.  Unfortunately, I have actually only been approached by one person regarding this situation.  This person, on the other hand, has been approached by quite a few people.  If you have a question about something as serious as the gospel-centeredness of my blog and my church, then going to other people about it does nothing to serve me.  As part of the same body that you are, if you have such serious concerns, then please come to me and humbly inquire or confront me of my possible fault.  If a body’s toe is bleeding, it does no good for the blood in my left shoulder to begin clotting.  The sick body part must be dealt with.  So please serve me by dealing with me directly for my own health.  I have my e-mail address in the “About Me” section for this purpose. 

I hope that this article serves much more purpose than a retraction of a few other articles.  Instead, I hope that it is used to serve the offended, the non-offended, those who never even read the articles, and myself to magnify the supremacy of God in response to the gospel in a way that enhances the gospel’s work in the lives of others, as opposed to merely serving ourselves.  Thank you so much for your prayers and words of encouragement.  I look forward to the many aspects of worship and the gospel that God has for us to explore in the years ahead.

Edit: I have added an audio clip of John Piper’s personal reaction to the video in my article entitled, “John Piper Is Bad.”

5 thoughts on “Living Worship On My Blog

  1. Rick,

    I pray God blesses you for this “bold move”. May it challenge all of us to search our hearts as we blog. And ultimately, may it call us all to live lives truly centered on the gospel.

    Thank you,

    Bob Hayton

  2. I wasn’t offended at all. Not quite sure how anybody could be. But I appreciate your humble approach to the whole situation.

  3. I am really encouraged by what I have seen here. I can’t imagine being offended by the Piper video. But what a great way to point us to the gospel by serving rather than arguing. I pray that other bloggers will take note of this example of gospel-centered blogging.

  4. I get this kind of thing all the time. Just know that the ratio is probably 1:100. You get one offended guy for every 100 blessed readers who read and don’t comment. Don’t take it personally and don’t feel like you’ve got to try to please all these folks.

    Honestly…and trust me on this…there are serious fundamentalist-minded young guys who spend way too much time on the internet and desperately enjoy picking fights with others about nitpicky issues. It’s a waste of time to serious interact with them all.

    What you do is great and I love it. The humor is helpful and understood by those with a sense of humor. Keep up the good work bro.

  5. Thanks for your blog, your example, and your love for our God. I pray that God will strengthen you by the power of His Spirit who is in you so that you can love your wife, serve the body He died for, and know the love of God that passes our understanding.

Leave a Reply

