Blizzard 2006 Update

by Rick Pidcock

Edit: I may be adding pictures and stories to this post as the days progress.  So check back for an occasional update. 

Many of you may be wondering how we are doing out here in Narnia…I mean Denver.  So I thought I would give you all an update as well as share some pictures of our neighborhood.  In case you do not know, we live in the northeast part of Denver, out by the airport.  And I think we can safely say that we got slammed.

Ruth Ellen had a really bad head cold yesterday morning.  And that turned out to be a praise because it meant that we did not end up stranded at her work place, an hour away from home.

Yesterday, I attempted to drive to my workplace.  But instead, I ended up stranded in the middle of I-70.  Semi-trucks were driving on either side of me.  And I had to get into one of their lanes in order to keep moving forward.  Finally, after about ten minutes of rocking back and forth, I was able to work my way out of the snow and squeeze in between two vehicles.  So I decided instead to go back home.

Of course, that didn’t last long until I was stuck again while entering into my neighborhood.   After another ten minutes of breaking my way free, I was able to go two blocks until I was stuck in the middle of the road once again.  A neighbor of mine was also stuck.  So we helped each other dig our cars out of the snow and get them to the side of the road.  That lasted about 45 minutes.

As I write this, the snow is still coming down.  But it should stop sometime within the next few hours.

We haven’t been able to go to work for the past two days.  And we probably will not until after Christmas.  But we have plenty of food in the meantime.  So much for the last minute Christmas shopping!

But anyway, I hope you enjoy the pictures.  I’m going to try to go out again in a little bit to get some more.

This first picture is of our garage.

This second picture is of our neighbors car.

This third picture is of our backyard.

This next picture is of our cat Tyger looking out at the back yard.

I don’t think this guy will be leaving any time soon!

Additional Updates

I just went out to scout out the neighborhood.  And I met an elderly lady who asked me, “Where is your hat?”

I answered, “I don’t have one.”

She gasped, “Do you really not own a hat?”

“Not that I know of.”

So she immediately went inside her house and gave me a hat and gloves that were meant for a lady about half my size.

Another one of our neighbors took his snowmobile up to King Soopers to buy beer for everybody.  Lest any of you be concerned, I promise that I took no part in that plot.

Update 8:30 p.m.

Well, today was quite the eventful day.  We can’t really afford to be missing so much work time.  So we decided to dig our way out of the neighborhood.

One guy, a few rows of townhouses down, noticed that one of the construction bulldozers had the keys in it.  And since he knows how to operate it, he cleared the main roads to get us out of the neighborhood.

Then each row of homes got together to clear the back alleys from our driveways and garages to the main roads.  We finally finished about thirty minutes ago.  So I went around to all the neighbors on our row to let them know how to get out of the neighborhood.

So this is a huge praise that we will be able to get to work tomorrow, as well as finish some Christmas shopping.

Next time you’re tempted to complain about your house, remember this picture courtesy of Karl Gehring from The Denver Post.  It was taken at the airport.

Leave a Reply

