Personal Update-August 2007

by Rick Pidcock

Just in case you haven’t noticed, blogging has been a bit sporadic to say the least for me over the past six months or so.  So I thought I would share a brief personal update to let everybody know how we are doing.

This past May, my brother Jeff graduated from BJU.  So Ruth Ellen and I went to see my family in Greenville for a week.  It had been a year and a half since we had last been back.  Since then, my parents had moved into a new house.  So that was pretty interesting going to visit a house that I hadn’t seen yet.

Before our trip, I had spent hours working on a DVD that had video of the houses that my parents had lived in out here, as well as of our church and townhome. But I forgot the video back at the park ‘n ride.  So I took the bus back in order to get the video.  And by the time I got back to the airport, it was too late.  So I had to wait until the next day to leave.

When we got back in Denver at 1:30 in the morning, two of our tires were flat.  So that was fun.

In June, Ruth Ellen’s brother Jonathan got married.  Since we wanted to see Jonathan before he left on his honeymoon, we decided to visit the week before the wedding.  However, little did I realize that there would be 19 people, 3 cats, and a dog all staying in the same house!  Between that and the wedding, it wasn’t much of a realistic vacation.  But it was good to see family again.

A few weeks ago, I started a new job.  It’s carpet and window cleaning.  And the company is great to work for.  The hours are great.  And the pay is much better than any other carpet cleaning company that I’ve worked for.  So I’m praying that this job will last for a while.

Due to having this new job, we also bought a new vehicle.  It’s a 2001 Mitsubishi Montero Sport 4×4.  And most importantly, it has air conditioner!  It will be a huge blessing to be able to use my own vehicle whenever I get my own carpet jobs, rather than borrowing somebody’s in the church.

I’ve also been working on a project over this past year that has taken up most of my spare time.  I’m not quite ready to announce it yet.  But I’ll let you know soon.

Thank you so much for your prayers and encouragement.  God has  truly been good to us lately.  Pray that the many activities in our lives will not distract us from the One that sovereignly guides us each day.  And please let us know how you are doing when you get the chance.

love,

Rick & Ruth Ellen

Leave a Reply

