Worship For Me

By Rick Pidcock

As a corporate worship leader, I find myself on a never ending quest to search for God-centered worship songs.  Sounds simple enough doesn’t it?  All too often, however, I find myself disappointed with the quality of the lyrics, the cheesiness of the music, or with the overall focus of the song itself.

In alot of contemporary worship music, we find songs filled with declarations of our devotion to God.  And while it is important to celebrate God by declaring our love for Him, we sometimes walk very closely to celebrating how passionate we are for God, rather than how gracious God is toward us in the gospel.

1 Peter 2:4,5 say, “As you come to him, a living stone rejected by men but in the sight of God chosen and precious, you yourselves like living stones are being built up as a spiritual house, to be a holy priesthood, to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.” 

In essence, we could never offer acceptable worship to God.  It doesn’t matter if we could sing of God’s love forever, or if we could dance for Him with the greatest joy, or if we could offer Him every breath that we breathe.  If we just come to Him with our gifts, we will fall infinitely short of what is acceptable and pleasing to an infinitely holy and glorious God.

What we need is a perfect High Priest to worship in our place in a way that makes our unacceptable worship acceptable.  We need Jesus to be the worship that we could never be.

Below is a song that I just finished that attempts to communicate this thought.  I know you don’t have the music for it.  But take a few moments and meditate on the words.  Ask yourself, do I come before God in worship by myself?  Or do I come before Him in worship through Christ?

WORSHIP FOR ME

Here I am, once again, to worship.
On my knees, once again, to worship.
But I can’t come alone,
And fall before Your throne.

Father I need Jesus to be
Worship that I could never be.
‘Cause Jesus alone, with heavenly groans,
Ushers me in before Your throne.
Father I need Jesus to be
Worship for me. 

Here I am, once again, to praise You–
Lifted hands, once again, to praise You.
But I can’t come alone,
And dance before Your throne.

Father I need Jesus to be
Worship that I could never be.
‘Cause Jesus alone, with heavenly groans,
Ushers me in before Your throne.
Father I need Jesus to be
Worship for me. 

Every song that I could sing for You (is not enough).
Every breath that I could breathe for You (is not enough).
Every prayer that I could pray to You (is not enough).
Every gift that I could bring to You (is not enough).
It’s not enough.

Father I need Jesus to be
Worship that I could never be.
‘Cause Jesus alone, with heavenly groans,
Ushers me in before Your throne.
Father I need Jesus to be
Worship for me. 

Words and music by Rick Pidcock
(c) 2008 by Rick Pidcock

2 thoughts on “Worship For Me

  1. Hey Rick,

    I appreciate the thought that worship can easily become self focused to the point where we almost worship worship. Thanks for that.

    Regarding the concept of Jesus being the worship that we could never be, I had two questions. What is worship? How can a person be worship?

    Grace to you.

  2. Jason,

    You bring up a really good question. This is something that I think most of us tend to not even think about.

    Worship is simply glorifying something as supreme. We can worship money, people, sports, forms of entertainment, or anything that we deem to be glorious in our lives.

    As believers, it is our desire to worship God by glorifying Him as supreme in every area of life (1 Cor. 10:31). We understand that worship is a response to the gospel (Rom. 12:1).

    However, the trap that we fall into is that we view worship as something that we do in response to something else that God has done. We view it almost as a “Pass the baton” race that we played in Awana growing up, where God fulfills His part of the race in the gospel, and then passes the baton on to us to take care of the rest in worship.

    In essence, we have a very small view of the glory of God. How can finite sinful creatures glorify an infinitly glorious Creator with anything?

    We talk about how we are going to worship God passionately, or in a way that is consistent with His character. But can we really worship in a way that lives up to the character of an infinitely glorious God?

    The fact is that, even as believers, we cannot do this in and of ourselves. We need somebody to make our unacceptable worship acceptable.

    In Christ, we not only have Somebody that makes our worship acceptable, we have Somebody that IS our worship.

    Here are three ways that I believe Christ is our worship.

    1. Christ is the response of perfect living worship that wins our righteousness (Rom. 5:18-19).

    Romans 5 is not often viewed as a passage on worship. But Christ worshiped God perfectly throughout every area of His entire life in order to win our righteousness.

    2. Christ is the response of sacrificial death that destroys our sin (Col. 1:20).

    Worship is unacceptable if it is offered from vessels filled with sin. And yet, Christ’s death destroyed our sin in order to make our worship possible and acceptable.

    3. Christ is the response of ongoing worship that perfects our imperfect worship (1 Pet. 2:5).

    If we can offer worship to God in a way that pleases Him, apart from the ongoing perfecting work of Christ, then God ceases to be glorious. His worth is so infinite that it is only through an infinitely glorious worshiper that we can come to Him.

    Christ is that infinitely glorious Worshiper. He not only worships God perfectly, His entire life and nature is the essence of perfectly glorious worship.

    So am I claiming that this is the perfect worship song? Of course not. It’s simply my feeble attempt to confess that I need Christ to offer to God the worship that I could never offer Him in my place. And it is through faith in Him that I offer my worship and praise to God.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

