Between Two Worlds

by Rick Pidcock

On January 1, 2009, my wife and I found out that we were going to have a baby after trying to get pregnant for a long time. We were so excited to let all of our friends and family know. And then the day before we were going to fly out to tell our families in person, we found out that we were having a miscarriage.

The sorrow that we feel in this world reminds us that we are between two worlds. This world has tastes of beauty, love, and grace. But it is still a world marred by sin.

As Christians, we hope for a better world. That world is where we will experience beauty, love, and grace to the fullest.

It is with that hope that we hold on to our Savior. It is with that hope that we listen to His words, “Do not be afraid.”

About three weeks after we found out that our baby was going to heaven, I wrote this song as the longing of my heart for something beautiful–a world of no more tears and no more suffering.

Oh, and btw, our new baby is due March 8, 2009!

BETWEEN TWO WORLDS
Words and music by Rick Pidcock

Between two worlds,
Between two places I call home,
One is where I really long to be.
Beyond my dreams,
It is a place I’ve never been.
But it’s the place I was created for.

A world of no more tears and no more suffering.
A world where worship is an endless offering.
Where I will finally see my Savior face to face,
And I will fully know I was created for

Another world,
A better moment than today,
A promise that, at last, I’ll finally see.
Then I will live
With joys I’ve only now begun.
I’ll dance before the One who set me free to

A world of no more tears and no more suffering.
A world where worship is an endless offering.
Where I will finally see my Savior face to face,
And I will fully know something beautiful.

Hold on. Hold on to Him.
Hold on to Him. And do not be afraid.

(c) 2009 Rick Pidcock

Leave a Reply

