A Night In A Box

by Rick Pidcock

Jesus said that the poor would always be with us.  In fact, there are 12 million children that are at risk of going hungry in America today.  Every month, thousands of people are being forced to leave their homes due to foreclosure in Denver.  And to make matters worse, 45% of all of Denver’s homeless are women and children.

In Matthew 25:35-40, Jesus says, “For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

Providence Ministries is a Denver-based ministry that seeks to love the poor by providing after school tutoring, fatherless outreach, homeless family mentoring, addiction recovery, teen outreach, and drug and alcohol classes.

On December 4, 2009, a group of people are going to spend a night in a box in order to raise funds and awareness that will go to existing programs currently helping the poor (Denver Rescue Mission & Denver’s Road Home) as well as renovation costs of a newly acquired community center (Providence Ministries) located in the heart of Five Points, Denver.

I am going to be one of the people spending a night in a box.  So if you would like to support these great causes by sponsoring me, please either let me know or fill out the sponsor form online here.

For more information, be sure to check out the official website here.

Leave a Reply

