Sovereignty & The Small Stuff

by Rick Pidcock

Do you ever find yourself pondering at simple moments of connection within the Body of Christ and wondering, “Now how did that happen?”

The other day, I wrote an article entitled “Time Traveling Worship.”  Then today, I checked my e-mail, and saw that somebody named Samantha Krieger had posted a comment on the article.  Her comment began with, “Rick- you have a great blog. Somehow it popped up in my dashboard.”

I still don’t know that much about Samantha, and have never heard of her before.  But I did take a few moments to check out her blog, and was encouraged with a greater vision of Christ, much like she was with my blog.

Now, I could just go on with my blogging and think, “That was nice.”

But the more I think about it, something simple, yet strangely profound took place that I can’t just pass over as a simple coincidence of the dashboard.

Ephesians 1:7-10 says, “In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace, which he lavished upon us, in all wisdom and insight, making known to us the mystery of his will, according to his purpose, which he set forth in Christ as a plan for the fullness of time, to unite all things in him, things in heaven and things on earth.”

Ephesians 1 is one of the greatest passages on the sovereignty of God set forth before the foundation of the world.  The purpose of God in Christ, according to this passage, is “to unite all things in Him.”

So, let’s look at this simple “coincidence” of my blog randomly popping up on Samantha’s dashboard through the lens of the sovereignty of God.

A link to my blog appeared on Samantha’s dashboard.

She decided to check it out.

As a result, she was drawn to a greater vision of her Savior, and she was connected with another member of the body of Christ.

So she made a comment on the article.

And as a result, I checked out her blog, was drawn to a greater vision of my Savior, and was connected with another member of the body of Christ.  Plus, I saw an article at her site regarding the health of Matt Chandler.  So I was encouraged to pray for him in his suffering.

Now, I’m writing this article, which is hopefully doing more than just confusing you.  Hopefully, it is leading you to the hope of Ephesians 1, which will lead to greater experiences with Christ and His Body in your life and with those you meet.

If the purpose of God in Christ is “to unite all things in Him,” then this simple coincidence of the dashboard is much more than a coincidence of a random link appearing on Samantha’s dashboard.  My blog article popping up on her dashboard was actually a sovereign act of God, determined before the foundation of the world, in order to bring together parts of His Body that otherwise were not aware of one another.

As you live out the “small stuff,” consider how the sovereignty of God guides even the seemingly most random aspects of technology to bring about His purposes in Christ.

Oh, and check out Samantha’s blog too at samanthakrieger.wordpress.com.

One thought on “Sovereignty & The Small Stuff

Leave a Reply

